Eligibility Criteria for Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA)

For CAs:

  1. Hold an active, valid, and unrevoked Chartered Accountant (CA) license issued by a legally constituted state authority, i.e. the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India.

For Others:

  1. Hold a business degree (i.e., management, economics, finance, marketing, accounting, or other business field) and/or a Master of Business Administration (MBA) or higher business degree from an accredited college or university; and be able to demonstrate, with business references or attestations from current or previous employers and/or partners, substantial experience in business valuation. For this purpose, substantial could mean:
    1. Two years or more full-time or equivalent experience in business valuation and related disciplines; or
    2. Having performed 10 or more business valuations where the applicant’s role was significant enough to be referenced in the valuation report or a signatory on the report; or
    3. Being able to demonstrate substantial knowledge of business valuation theory, methodologies, and practices.

    4. For example, having a combination of published works on the subject and completed either a Ph.D. in finance or economics or a doctor of business administration (DBA) from an accredited institution of higher education and having some work experience.

For All Applicants:

  1. Successfully demonstrate that applicant meets NACVA’s Experience Threshold by completing a sample Case Study or submitting an actual and sanitized Fair Market Value (FMV) valuation report prepared in the last 12 months for peer review;
  2. Attend the training program;
  3. Submit three personal and three business references; and
  4. Pass a comprehensive, five-hour, multiple-choice/true-false, proctored examination.

  5. An application to take the examination must be submitted prior to issuance of the exam. To hold an active CVA designation, individuals must pay requisite annual fees and comply with tri-annual recertification. CVAs who allow these requirements to lapse will lose their certification and must reapply to become certified if they later choose to reinstate.